About Us

Structure & Bios

Business Manager & Financial Secretary

Jim Lofty
604.474.5269 | jlofty@ibew213.org

Jim is a Trustee of the Local 213 Electrical Worker’s Pension Plan and the Health & Benefits Plan. He is the Local 213 past President.

Executive Board

Jim Dyball, President

Kurt Thygesen, Vice President

Ken Heatley, Recording Secretary

Emelia Colman-Shepherd, Treasurer

Jonas Calimbas, Unit 1 Chair

Rebecca Lupton, Unit 2 Chair

Steven Bennett, Unit 3 Chair

Graham Menzies, Unit 4 Chair

Jeff Fisher, Unit 5 Chair

Steve Brewster, Unit 6 Chair


Scott Ashton, Director of Education / Director of Personnel
604.571.6517 | sashton@ibew213.org

As Director of Personnel, Scott is responsible for the Personnel Department, which handles hiring, administration, and training of office personnel. As Director of Education Scott manages the Education programs in the areas of employee education including ABM and Administrative staff training. He develops labour education for members such as the Shop Steward training, and liaises with the EJTC and NETCOM, and represents the Local on education committees including the BC Fed Standing Education Committee. Scott is a Trustee of the Local 213 Welfare and Pension Plans and a delegate to the Vancouver District Labour Council.

William Maarsman, Director of Business Development
604 571.6511 | wmaarsman@ibew213.org

William is in charge of Membership Development. He is a Delegate for the Fraser Valley Labour Council, Vancouver New West Labour Council, and Vancouver New West Trades Council. He also interviews applicants for Construction Electricians.

Union Representatives

Albert Bortolussi, Business Representative
604.571.6513 | abortolussi@ibew213.org

Albert assist with the Utilities groups (Beaver Electrical Machinery, FortisBC Energy, FortisBC Gas, Pacific Northern Gas). Albert first joined the Organizing Department after many years at FortisBC Energy in the B.C. Interior.

Christina Brock, Assistant Business Manager
604.571.6516 | cbrock@ibew213.org

Christina is responsible for negotiating and administering our collective agreements with Euro-Rite Cabinets, Sustainable Produce Urban Delivery (SPUD), Trader Corporation, Wall2Wall Media, Sears Canada, Simon Fraser University (SFU), NCR Canada, Abbotsford Hospital (BJCC) and Interior Heart and Surgical Centre (WFSLP). Christina also sits on the Human Rights committee at the BC Federation of Labour and is the local president of the Electrical Workers Minority Caucus (EWMC).

Corey Broslow, Assistant Business Manager
604 571-6508 | cbroslow@ibew213.org

Corey is responsible for the collective agreements at Pattison Sign (Penticton), City of Kelowna, Gescan (Abbotsford, Surrey and Vancouver), Anixter Canada and ADT/TYCO.

Rav Ghuman, Assistant Business Manager

Rav is currently on extended leave. Please contact Ryan Osborne in his absence.

Rav is responsible for negotiating and administering our collective agreements with FortisBC (Gas Operations), and Pacific Northern Gas (PNG). He is also the primary Pension Trustee representing Local 213 members on the FortisBC Energy Inc. (Gas) Pension Plan.

Lisa Langevin, Assistant Business Manager
604.571.5270 | llangevin@ibew213.org

Lisa is responsible for negotiating and administering our collective agreements with the Vancouver School Board, the City of Vancouver Electrical Operations, the City of Vancouver Inspectors and Technicians, the City of New Westminster, and Mackay Communications. She is a founding member and staff representative to the IBEW 213 women’s committee, sits on the BC Federation of Labour Women’s Committee, is the President of the BC Tradeswomen Society, and is a Board Member on the Industry Training Authority (ITA).

Robin Nedila, Assistant Business Manager
604.571.6515 | rnedila@ibew213.org

Robin negotiates and administers our collective agreements with Baycross Communications, City West Cable North, City West Telephone, Coastal Cable, Delta Cable, DVC Communications, Horizon Communications, Pacific West Cable, Parallax Industries, RMI Communications, Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Port Coquitlam, North Shore, White Rock), SOS Communications, Van Wire Corp, West Coast Data. He is also the Secretary/Treasurer of NETCOM Vocational Training Association.

Ryan Osborne, Assistant Business Manager
604.571.6506 | rosborne@ibew213.org

Ryan most recently held a position at FortisBC as a customer service technician before joining the IBEW in a full time capacity. He is a certified plumber and “A” ticketed gas fitter. Ryan is responsible for administrating the FortisBC Gas and Pacific Northern Gas collective agreements.

Mandeep Saggu
604.571.6512 | msaggu@ibew213.org

A certified electrician, Mandeep represents members working under the Inside Wire Agreement, Marine, and Shipyards.

Jeff Self, Assistant Business Manager

Jeff is currently on extended leave. Please contact Albert Bortolussi or Christina Brock in his absence.

Jeff is responsible for negotiating and administering our collective agreements with Fortis Electric, Beaver Electrical Machinery, Westburne Electric, the City of Summerland and the City of Penticton.


Mike Logan
604.571.6533 | dispatch@ibew213.org

Mike is the Dispatcher, responsible for placing apprentice and journey electricians with signatory contractors within greater Vancouver, Fraser Valley, Sunshine Coast and Okanagan. He is a Red Seal electrician with experience in Marine, Heavy Industry, Commercial and Manufacturing. Mike is currently the Vice Chair of the Unit 2 Committee.

Business Development

Dustin Brecht
604.474.5266 | dbrech@ibew213.org

Office Staff

Glynis Jones, Assistant to the Business Manager
604.571.6518 | gjones@ibew213.org

Irene Astley, Bookkeeper

Todd Nickel, Communication | Member Services
604.571.6503 | tnickel@ibew213.org

Rhonda Earwaker, Reception | Member Services

Barbara Armstrong, Dues Clerk | Member Services

Jessica Varga, Membership | International Pension | Member Services
604.571.6500 | jvarga@ibew213.org

Connie Gordon, Switchboard | Member Services

Amarys Joseph, Member Services